Ted Russell Kamp

Record Details

singer / songwriter, country, rock

Record Tracklist

  1. My Girl Now -:-- / 3:16
  2. Path of Least Resistance -:-- / 2:52
  3. You Can Go To Hell, I’m Going To Texas -:-- / 4:17
Solitaire was released on May 7, 2021.
Debuted at #1 on Euroamericana Radio Chart
The second single “You Can Go To Hell, I’m Going To Texas” debuted on April 10.
The first single “My Girl Now” debuted on March 12.

“Ted is a Country-Rock MVP” — Rolling Stone Country


1. My Girl Now (3:16)

2. Path of Least Resistance (2:52)

3. You Can Go To Hell, I’m Going To Texas (4:17)

4. Birds That Sing At Dawn (3:35)

5. As Far As The Eye Can See (3:37)

6. The Hardest Road to Find – (3:48)

7. Solitaire (3:14)

8. Western Wind – (3:51)

9. Be Your Man – (3:37)

10. A Rose Or Two (4:11)

11. The Spark – (4:19)

12. Only a Broken Heart (3:04)

13. Exception to the Rule (4:43)

14. Lightning Strikes Twice (3:32)

The Notes

Solitaire marks Ted’s 13th record as the artist and front man, and it’s a 14-song record featuring Ted’s bass playing, singing and producing. Recorded almost entirely in Ted’s home studio, The Den, during the months of the COVID 19 quarantine, Ted performed and engineered almost the entire record himself. Featuring a moodier and more introspective approach to songwriting and playing, this record is as much of a classic folk and singer songwriter record as Ted has ever made and features mostly acoustic and intimate performances.

As is usual with a Ted album, some good friends and familiar names in the Americana genre add their talents as well. Solitaire features co-writes and guest performances by Ed Jurdi of the Band of Heathens, Matt Szlachetka, Brian Whelan, Tony Scalzo of Fastball, Mark Mackay, Don Gallardo, Shane Alexander and more. Aside from Ted’s playing, almost every musical guest recorded in their own home studio and sent the tracks in to be added and mixed – recording quarantine style.

This is record deals with the isolation many of us have felt this last year but also has numerous songs of hope and inspiration as we dream and look forward to our future.

The Players

Ted Russell Kamp – vocals, bass, acoustic & electric guitars, dobro, dulcimer, mandolin, banjo, Hammond, Wurlitzer, accordion, toy piano, drums, percussion, snaps & claps

Shane Alexander – harmony vocal (Western Wind)

Jim Doyle – drums (The Spark, TX)

Don Gallardo – harmony vocal (Lightning Strikes Twice)

Ed Jurdi – slide guitar & harmony vocal (Exception)

Mark Mackay – electric guitar & harmony vocal (Hardest Road to Find)

Vanessa Olivarez – harmony vocal (TX)

John Schreffler – pedal steel (The Spark, TX) & harmony vocal (Western Wind)

Matt Szlachetka – harmony vocal (As Far As The Eye Can See)

Brian Whelan – harmony vocal (The Spark)

The Team

Produced by Ted Russell Kamp

Mixed by Ted and Mark Rains

Mastered by Mark Rains at the Station House (Echo Park)


Art Design: Paul R Moore

Paintings: Lea Williams

Album photos: Karman Kruschke

  1. High Desert Fever - preview Buy 0:39
  2. California Son - preview Ted Russell Kamp Buy 0:49
  3. You Can Go To Hell, I'm Going To Texas Ted Russell Kamp 4:17
  4. My Girl Now Ted Russell Kamp 3:17
  5. Path of Least Resistance Ted Russell Kamp 2:52
  6. Home Sweet Hollywood (featuring Shooter Jennings) Ted Russell Kamp (featuring Shooter Jennings)
  7. Waste A Little Time With Me Ted Russell Kamp 2:45
  8. Right Down to the Wire Ted Russell Kamp 4:03
  9. California Wildflower Ted Russell Kamp 4:05
  10. If I Had A Dollar Ted Russell Kamp 3:04
  11. Rainy Day Valentine Ted Russell Kamp