Down In The Den

Ted Russell Kamp

Record Details

singer / songwriter, soul, gospel, rock
Down In The Den was released on July 24, 2020 and good press and radio play has been coming in:


“Ted is a Country-Rock MVP” — Rolling Stone Country

“Songcrafting and vocal approach comparable to Guy Clark to Arlo Guthrie … and a primo instrumentalist” — American Songwriter

“A major league bass player, producer, songwriter and singer … making the kind of music which lives forever. … [Kamp has] a wisdom in what he writes and a stone-cold vocal strength in everything he sings.” — Americana Highways

Get the record on your preferred music service >>


1. Home Sweet Hollywood (featuring Shooter Jennings) (4:20)

2. Have Some Faith (3:36)

3. Waste A Little Time With Me (2:45)

4. Stick With Me (4:09)

5. Hold On (4:19) (featuring Gordy Quist)

6. Hobo Nickel (3:27)

7. Rainy Day Valentine (5:13)

8. The Good Part (3:01)

9. Word For Word (5:01) (featuring Sarah Gayle Meech)

10. My Turn To Cry (3:42)

11. Only Son (4:47) (featuring Shane Alexander)

12. Every Little Thing You Need (3:46)

13. Saint Severin (5:13)

14. Take My Song With You (3:54) (featuring Kirsten Proffit)

The Notes

Down in the Den marks Ted’s 12th record as the artist and frontman, and it’s a 14-song record featuring Ted’s bass playing, singing and producing. Some familiar names in the Americana genre add their talents and voices: Gordy Quist of the Band of Heathens, Matt Szlechetka, Brian Whelan, Brian Wright, Eric Heywood, Sarah Gayle Meech, Kirsten Proffitt, and more.

Ted recorded the record mostly in L.A. in his home studio, The Den, with Ted producing and engineering. Some individual songs were started in Santa Monica (Jim Doyle Audio), Helsinki (E-Studio), L.A. (Station House and Hollywood Sound) and Nashville (16 Tons).

Originally planned as a Memphis Southern soul record, it then grew to be more eclectic and includes more intimate singer songwriter moments as well as soul, gospel and rock influences. Some of the guest vocalists include Shooter Jennings (on Home Sweet Hollywood), Gordy Quist (on Hold On), Shane Alexander (on Only Son), Sarah Gayle Meech (on Word For Word) and Kirsten Proffit (on Take My Song With You).

The Players

Ted – vocals & bass (all songs), acoustic guitar, keyboards &percussion (most songs), trumpet, trombone, dobro and banjo


Electric Guitar – John Schreffler (about 1/2 of the songs)

and these players guest on one or two each: David Steele, Matt Szlechetka, Bart Ryan, Tommi Viksten, Tokela, Jason Cope, Brian Whelan, Don Ian, Michael O’Connor, Phil Hurley, Dan Wistrom

Drums – Jamie Douglass (about 1/2 of the songs)

and these players guest on one each: Jim Doyle, Janne Haavisto, Dave Dunseath, Dave Raven, Corey Coverstone, John Chipman

Additional Keyboards – Brian Whelan, Derek Morris

Pedal Steel – Eric Heywood, Dave Berzanski, Dan Wistrom

Trumpet & Trombone on Hobo Nickel – Dave Richards

Percussion – Jason Sutter, Matt Szlechetka, Janne Haavisto

Guest Vocals – Shooter Jennings (duet on Home Sweet Hollywood), Emily Zuzik, Dan Wistrom, Matt Szlechetka, Mike Bray, Levi Duren, Gordy Quist (guest on Hold On), Funkyjenn Gibbons, John Schreffler, Shane Alexander (on Only Son), Sarah Gayle Meech (on Word For Word), Grant Langston, Kirsten Proffit (duet on Take My Song With You)

The Team

Produced by Ted Russell Kamp

Mixed by Ted and Mark Rains

Mastered by Mark Rains at the Station House (Echo Park)

Engineered by

8 of the songs recorded by Ted Russel Kamp in The Den (L.A.) except:

One song each was started with Jim Doyle at Doyle Audio (Santa Monica), E-Studio (Helsinki), Mark Rains at the Station House (Echo Park) and Hollywood Sound (L.A.), Mike Esser at 16 Tons (Nashville) and Ron Flynt at Jumping Dog Studios (Austin)


Album photos: Karman Kruschke
Art Design: Paul R Moore

  1. High Desert Fever - preview Buy 0:39
  2. California Son - preview Ted Russell Kamp Buy 0:49
  3. You Can Go To Hell, I'm Going To Texas Ted Russell Kamp 4:17
  4. My Girl Now Ted Russell Kamp 3:17
  5. Path of Least Resistance Ted Russell Kamp 2:52
  6. Home Sweet Hollywood (featuring Shooter Jennings) Ted Russell Kamp (featuring Shooter Jennings)
  7. Waste A Little Time With Me Ted Russell Kamp 2:45
  8. Right Down to the Wire Ted Russell Kamp 4:03
  9. California Wildflower Ted Russell Kamp 4:05
  10. If I Had A Dollar Ted Russell Kamp 3:04
  11. Rainy Day Valentine Ted Russell Kamp